top of page
  • Writer's pictureEric

Thanksgiving Turkey

With all that is going on in the world (Covid) etc , I know more people will be cooking their own Thanksgiving feast this year. In this blog I'm going to show you how I smoked my practice turkey .




I started off by making my brine , I used bayou brine by 5280 Culinary

I brought 2 quarts of water to a boil and added contents of the brine. Let it boil for a few minutes and brought to a simmer. Once it came down to room temp it was ready to add to my brining bucket.




I lined a 5 gallon Ace bucket with a brine bag, which is also available at 5280 culinary. Once I added the brine bag to my bucket I poured the contents of the brine into the bag and added my turkey. I brined the bird one hour for every lb , this turkey was around 10lbs.



Once I pulled the bird from the brine bag ,I got my Char-Griller Akorn up to temp 350 degrees, I patted the turkey dry and added my rub. Bayou Dust from 5280 culinary , inserted the Meater+ wireless meat thermometer, and placed into my roasting pan and then into the smoker.

The total cook time was around 3.5 hours , I pulled it off once the Meater+ read 165 in the breast and the legs where 175 degrees . Pretty simple cook and results in a fantastic Thanksgiving day turkey.

Hope you all have a great and safe Thanksgiving , if you have any ?'s feel free to email me @ beardedbeastbbq@gmail.com






59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page